February 2, 2023
Photograph Credit score: Bradley Quinn

Van Morrison’s life-long love of skiffle music dates again to childhood, first listening to Lead Stomach and Jelly Roll Morton in Belfast’s report retailer Atlantic Data, after which forming his first skiffle band whereas nonetheless in class. A number of many years later, Van Morrison is revisiting the style’s roots and ‘50s peak with the March tenth launch of his model new album ‘Transferring On Skiffle’.

Having not too long ago launched its lead single ‘Streamline Practice’, Van Morrison now presents one other preview of the 23-track album as he unveils the follow-up, ‘Nervous Man Blues’ – Hear BELOW:

As with many influential people and skiffle songs, ‘Nervous Man Blues’ has emerged in many alternative types through the years. Generally the lyrics are altered and the association is adaptable, however as Van Morrison’s stirring new take demonstrates, the tune’s insistent melody and virtually hymnal air by no means loses its magic. Telling the story of a person sentenced to work on chain gang, ‘Nervous Man Blues’ first reached a wider viewers through The Carter Household’s model, with quite a few artists corresponding to Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger and Lonnie Donegan all including to its storied legacy.

Van Morrison additionally has a historical past with the tune. It beforehand featured on ‘The Skiffle Periods – Reside in Belfast 1998’ album, a set that captured his efficiency with Lonnie Donegan and Chris Barber.

All through the remainder of ‘Transferring On Skiffle’, Van Morrison largely performs these timeless songs straight – typically together with his personal attribute lyrical twists, and others together with his personal preparations. The ever-rebellious Morrison has modified the title of ‘Mama Don’t Enable’, recorded by each the Memphis Jug Band and the Chicago blues man Tampa Purple within the late Twenties, to ‘Gov Don’t Enable’, a nod to his battle towards the rise of presidency interference in our day by day lives. And the gospel commonplace ‘This Little Gentle of Mine’, a key anthem of the Civil Rights motion in ‘60s America, is remodeled into the rollicking, upbeat ‘This Loving Gentle of Mine’. Opening observe ‘Freight Practice’ is an instantaneous spotlight, a tune which was initially written by Elizabeth Cotten after which recorded by each Peggy Seeger and Chas McDevitt. It closes with ‘Inexperienced Rocky Highway’, a plaintive people gem and an ode to the troubadour life that was made well-known by Fred Neil and Dave Van Ronk, and featured within the movie ‘Inside Llewyn Davis’.

Earlier this month, Van Morrison performed two sold-out London exhibits on the Electrical Ballroom, which obtained a glowing 5-star overview from The Instances. Subsequent comes a collection of intimate album launch exhibits at The Stables, Milton Keynes (March thirteenth, 14th and fifteenth) and Whitla Corridor, Belfast (April sixth and seventh). All six gigs are already sold-out.

‘Transferring On Skiffle’ tracklist:

1. Freight Practice

2. Careless Love

3. Sail Away Girls

4. Streamline Practice

5. Take This Hammer

6. No Different Child

7. Gypsy Davy

8. This Loving Gentle of Mine

9. In The Night When the Solar Goes Down

10. Yonder Comes A Sucker

11. Travellin’ Blues

12. Gov Don’t Enable

13. Come On In

14. Streamlined Cannonball

15. Buck Greenback

16. Oh Lonesome Me

17. I Want Was An Apple On A Tree

18. I’m So Lonesome I Might Cry

19. I’m Movin’ On

20. Chilly Chilly Coronary heart

21. Nervous Man Blues

22. Cotton Fields

23. Inexperienced Rocky Highway


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *