February 2, 2023
Photograph Credit score: Steve Gullick

‘Over And Over’ is the fourth observe to be launched from the band’s hotly anticipated first studio album – out third February 2023 on Transgressive Data – and follows ‘Kill Me Once more’, ‘Can I Name You’ and ‘Drowning’.

The band will hit the street in March for a tour that can see The WAEVE go to Bristol, Manchester, Glasgow, Leeds, Sheffield, Nottingham and Brighton, in addition to London’s Lafayette. The group will precede the total band stay appearances with intimate, stripped-down appearances and signing classes for Tough Commerce in London, Bristol and Nottingham throughout the week of the album’s launch. Later this summer time, the band will carry out at a number of summer time festivals, together with Primavera Sound (full touring particulars are listed beneath).

Produced by The WAEVE and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, HAIM) and recorded in London earlier this yr, ‘The WAEVE’ is a group of 10 new tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Becoming a member of artistic forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the chance to push previous their instrumental consolation zones. Many tracks function Graham on saxophone, one of many first devices he performed as a younger musician again within the 80s. The primary single ‘Can I Name You’ begins as a ballad then morphs right into a krautrock-style motorik quantity with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. ‘All Alongside’ options Graham on cittern, a medieval folks lute. Rose performs the piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth.

The heavy climate throughout ‘The WAEVE’ remembers the blustery folks rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, whereas tracks reminiscent of ‘Kill Me Once more‘ and ‘Over and Over’ recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, nearly industrial in locations.

Take heed to ‘Over And Over’ – BELOW:

The WAEVE – Album In shops 2023 (Stripped Down Set & Signing)

4 February – LONDON – Tough Commerce East
6 February – BRISTOL – Tough Commerce
7 February – NOTTINGHAM – Tough Commerce

The WAEVE – UK Tour 2023

19 March – BRISTOL – Trade
20 March – MANCHESTER – Band on The Wall
21 March – GLASGOW – Saint Luke’s
23 March – LEEDS – Brudenell Social Membership
24 March – SHEFFIELD – The Foundry
25 March – NOTTINGHAM – Rescue Rooms
27 March – LONDON – Lafayette
28 March – BRIGHTON – Chalk

The WAEVE – EU Summer season Festivals 2023

29 Might-4 June – PRIMAVERA SOUND – Barcelona, Spain (Membership Primavera)
13 July – VIELLES CHARRUES – France

Tickets are on sale at 10 am Friday twenty eighth October. Tickets info right here.

The WAEVE Album

The WAEVE Album Tracklisting:

1 Can I Name You
2 Kill Me Once more
3 Over And Over
4 Sleepwalking
5 Drowning
6 Somebody Up There
7 All Alongside
8 Undine
9 Alone And Free
10 You’re All I Need To Know

The WAEVE (pronounced “wave”) is a brand new venture that includes the duo of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. A liquid assembly of musical minds and skills. A strong elixir of cinematic British folk-rock, post-punk, natural songwriting and freefall jamming. The WAEVE strikes that magical English folk-rock alchemy of earth and ether. Heaviness and weightlessness. Darkness and lightweight.

Graham Coxon is among the acknowledged guitar heroes of his era. His seminal contribution to Blur – in addition to his 9 solo albums since 1998, to not point out acclaimed soundtrack work – goes with out saying. This autumn sees the publication of his autobiography, Verse, Refrain, Monster! on Faber and Faber. Rose Elinor Dougall is a singer-songwriter from London who has launched three solo albums – the most recent being A New Phantasm (2019). She has additionally labored with Mark Ronson and Baxter Dury amongst others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *